Remember Me?

Hello, friends!  It’s been quiet around here lately, but I’m still here!  I made only 5 measly posts in August, which seems like nothing compared to July’s 30 for 30 Remix shenanigans. September promises a lot of fun happenings and a few challenges for me, so except more frequent updates!

One major chore that I’m glad to have checked off my to-do list in August was moving.  I ditched my studio apartment in Inman Park and moved into my BF’s Grant Park town-home.  That’s right, we’re living in sin!  He asked me to officially move in when we celebrated our one year anniversary on August 3rd.  I had to give my apartment manager 60 days notice, so I was planning on moving things over a little at a time through the end of September.  My plans were expedited when a friend expressed interest in renting my apartment starting September 1st, which meant I needed to get out of there completely on the last weekend of August.  Moving sucks, even when you don’t have much to move.  I’m so happy it’s over, and now September can be spent getting settled in here.  The BF and I are both new to this whole living with a significant other thing, so the adjustment period may spur an entertaining story or two.  And I’m itching to try my hand at a few decorating ideas around here, which should be interesting!

I have quite a bit of free time on my hands this month: the long Labor Day weekend is upon us, and I’m taking a full week off of work in the middle of the month.  I don’t have any exciting travel plans, just a ton of vacation time that I need to use up.  I originally planned on using that week to complete the move, but now it’s simply free time that I’m going to make the most of.  I’m thinking a trip to the zoo, a hike or two, and maybe a couple museum visits are in order – a nice little stay-cation.  I’m definitely open to suggestions, so please comment away!  And let me know if you happen to be available for some fun the week of the 12th… I’d love some company!

I don’t think I’ll do another 30 for 30 Remix challenge again any time soon, but outfit posts are sure to make more appearances around here.  I’m so excited to wear the items in my fall wardrobe!  The 10 day forecast includes a couple of days with high temperatures in the 70’s, which has me all giddy and dreaming of layers…

Oh, and I mentioned a couple of challenges for September; the two biggest are selling my car and studying for/taking the GRE.  I’ve decided to sell my car for a couple of reasons.  One is financial: I don’t like having a car payment and insurance, maintenance and gas add up quickly.  Secondly, the stress of owning a “nice” car outweighs the enjoyment for me.  Almost all of the driving I do is in the city, which causes a lot of wear and tear on a vehicle, and I have to park on the street, which means a lot of bumps and dings.  I can’t help but feel a little tiffed every time I see a new scratch, and I hate that.  After a lot of thought, I’ve decided that I’ll be a happier person with a car that I don’t care as much about and can purchase outright.  I will not be in a huge rush to buy a new (to me) car right away since my new residence is within walking distance to a Marta train station.  I’m going to take advantage of that for a little while and see how it goes.  Is Marta really smarta?  I’ll find out (with pepper spray in hand) and report back!

And I decided to take the GRE on a lark a few days ago.  A new test format was introduced in August, and there is a promotion of half off the testing fee if you take it before Sept. 30.  I don’t have any immediate plans to go back to school, but hopefully I’ll figure out what it is I’m doing with my life before the score expires in 5 years – ha!

Since this post has turned into a complete ramble-fest, and blog posts with pictures are better than those without, here are a few pictures from my trip to Spain 2 years ago.  This time 2 years ago, I was wrapping up my first full day in Barcelona. *sigh*  I want to go back to there.  My friend and I started off in Barcelona, then flew to Sevilla, and ended up in Madrid.  It was wonderful.

Parc Guell in Barcelona

Sevilla

Fresh Churros!

Madrid

That’s all for now!  I’ll be back soon, I promise!

About atlantanative

I live and play in Atlanta. Sometimes I like to write about my experiences and things that inspire me.

One response to “Remember Me?

  1. I saw that GRE promotion, too, and tried to sign up for it on a whim, but no test dates are available in that time frame in my area 😦
    The next test around here is Oct 15th. I was so excited about just getting it done… I’m still considering it….
    Like you, I have no concrete plans yet. It’d just be satisfying to have it out of the way!

Leave a Reply

