Cheap Dye Job

I’d been sporting highlighted locks since Spring, but I wasn’t particularly diligent with the upkeep.  The overgrown roots were becoming difficult to ignore, especially when I was posting pictures of myself everyday during the 30 for 30 Remix.

I started to consider taking matters into my own hands and dying my hair myself.  I was simply going darker, so how hard could it be?  And why not save a few bucks?  But then I remembered the less than successful at-home dye jobs of my past and resigned myself to shelling out the big bucks.  After all, you get what you pay for, right?

I was planning on having Tracy, the wonderful stylist who cut my hair a little while ago, revamp my color, but she had no open appointments that worked with my schedule in the foreseeable future.  She was very helpful in explaining what she would do to my hair:  use a semi permanent glaze that is a couple shades warmer than my natural hair color.  She explained that this would work for me even though my natural hair color has cool tones and my eyes are blue (a cool color), because I have warm tones in my skin.  With this information in mind, I took a gander over to the hair dye aisle at Target to see if there was anything that matched that description.  Turns out there was!

I found this semi-permanent gloss color by L’Oreal in medium-golden brown.  It seemed to fit the bill, but I had to weigh the pros and cons of taking such a risk.

Pros: Cost – $10 vs. $65 + tip; Convenience – no appointment necessary, and the box promised 10 minutes, which is way more appealing than sitting in a salon for an hour+; Semi-Permanent – equals less damaging and it’s NOT permanent!

Cons: I’m not a professional – I worried about the color being uneven, and had a scary vision of orange frazzled hair…

After standing in the aisle for a good 15 minutes, I took a deep breath and purchased the box. If it turned out to be a horrible mistake, I’d shamefully make an appointment right away and vow to never take such a risk again.  But, luckily, I have a positive outcome to report!

Before...

And after! (Please forgive the awful lighting and the blatant mirror self-portraits!)

It was a super easy process; I made sure all of my hair was drenched in the solution and waited 10 minutes.  After shampooing the dye out and conditioning my hair, I was anxious to get it dry to see the results as my hair didn’t appear to be much different while it was wet.

The dye did it’s job and looked pretty even to me (big sigh of relief!)  Some of the highlights show through as a lighter color, which was to be expected at home or at the salon.  It gives the overall look a “multifaceted” effect. I’ve had my hair dyed professionally many times, and I’d say that the results are comparable.  Lord knows I wouldn’t try bleaching my hair at home, but for a relatively subtle change like this, I would totally go this route again.

Got a self-dye success (or horror) story to share?  I’d love to hear it!  Leave a comment!

About atlantanative

I live and play in Atlanta. Sometimes I like to write about my experiences and things that inspire me.

Leave a Reply

