Be Brutally Honest, Please!

My dilemma all started when I wandered over to Anthropologie.com for a little inspiration and this photo caught my eye:

I consider this to be a very daring outfit; the mixed patterns are so wrong that they’re (almost?) right.  Something about it speaks to me, but it may just be because it’s on the Anthropologie website (can they ever do wrong?).  Or maybe it’s because a model is wearing it on a beautifully styled set.  Nevertheless, it got me thinking about the blue floral skirt that was a part of my 30 for 30 Remix.  You may remember me mentioning that I feel in love with it when I saw the photo below on Fab’rik’s Facebook wall:

I didn’t buy the top above because I was worried I wouldn’t be confident enough to rock the two different patterns.  I’ve paired the skirt with two different solid colored tops so far, but tonight I was playing in my closet and put something together that I’m on the fence about.  I would seriously appreciate your opinion on whether or not this outfit should ever see the light of day.  Be a pal and tell me honestly what you think of this ensemble:

I was initially pleased with how this looked in the mirror.  Then I remembered the lesson I learned from the belted green shirt mistake: a picture never lies!  So I snapped these pictures and, quite frankly, I still kind of like it.  But it is way out of my comfort zone.  I may have been brainwashed by Anthropologie, so I ask, would you wear it?  Would you recommend I wear it in public?  Would you mock someone you saw wearing this out and about?  Let me know with a comment!

About atlantanative

I live and play in Atlanta. Sometimes I like to write about my experiences and things that inspire me.

13 responses to “Be Brutally Honest, Please!

  1. You look fabulous Feathers! And I can’t help but admire the painting and black cabinet in the background 😉

  2. I really like it! That red belt (or is it part of your top?) is what makes it work and pulls it together. Thumbs up from me.

    And I’m such a sucker for the styling on Anthropologie. They could make a paper bag look good.

  3. shell

    Love love lo e

  4. shell

    Maybe no belt but I love the intense color combo very euro

  5. saradoll24

    At first glance I really liked it a lot, but the more I look at it, I think the patterns are too similar in size and shape. I think the original worked a bit better because it was more of a contrast of designs.

  6. I feel like I am brainwashed constantly by spending my days looking at other fashion bloggers and fashion sites (who wouldn’t wear a semi transparent knitted top in the light of day – I would and did), so I might not be the best person to ask. But I love it, Heather! I think it totally works and you can own it. I think I might style it with a few accessories too if you are comfortable to go all the way with the look. I’m pretty sure the mixed print trend started with eccentric grannies – and they love their bangles, rings and swingy earrings 😉

  7. I would absolutely not mock at all! I think those two patterns are awesome together. If I saw you on the street I would totally give you two thumbs up!

  8. That specific Anthro photo has me baffled too! I generally agree with their pattern pairings, even when they’re REALLY counter intuitive, but for some reason, this one just doesn’t quite work for me.
    That said, I LOVE your color combo. And I LOVE the way the shape of the skirt and blouse work together. And, I say wear it! It looks great on you, and you look so bold! My one, honest hesitation (this is totally OCD) is that the patterns on both pieces are about the same scale, and I usually try to pair larger patterns with smaller patterns (very small patterns which can act as solids in an outfit) to create some visual contrast/points of interest/places for the eye to rest. However, I think the solid belt-band provides that function in this outfit. So, rock it!

Leave a Reply

