A Nice Little Sunday…

One of my favorite things to do on a Sunday morning is wake up relatively early (around 8ish), lay in cocoon of blankets and figure out the menu for the week.  Then I hightail it over to the Dekalb Farmer’s Market armed with my grocery list around 9am to beat the insane weekend crowds, and less than an hour and $50 later, the fridge is stocked with meat and veggies for the week.  A full fridge makes this girl really happy!  There’s just something about seeing the crisper drawer full of colorful vegetables that makes me feel content; I’m a pretty simple gal.

High off of my grocery shopping trip this morning, I decided to tackle a project the BF and I have been avoiding for months: filling the planters on the balconies of his town-home.  He moved in 6 whole months ago, and I was sure that we’d make our way over to Lowes in the Spring to revive the overgrown planters the previous owner left behind.  We talked about it and talked about it and found excuses every weekend to not get our hands dirty, which left the balcony off of the main living area looking like this:

The chairs were haphazardly thrown out there several months ago, the planters all had bright green weeds spilling out from them and I’m not confident that the balcony has ever been swept or washed.  Oh, and that suspicious looking blob to the right of the rectangular planter?  That’s an old wasps nest.  Nice place to hang out and enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the day, huh?

We haven’t even stepped outside in recent weeks due to the muggy summer weather we’re smack dab in the middle of, but it’s actually quite tolerable to sit outside in the evenings.  With a little inspiration from one of my favorite blogs, Young House Love, I took it upon myself to exercise my green thumb and spruce things up a bit.  I’m pretty happy with the results!

The floor is slighly cleaner, and the chairs arranged for socializing, with a table to rest my wine glass on.

I started an herb garden that consists of oregano, lemon thyme and sweet basil. I'd have to look at the plant information to identify everything else; it's just basic annuals and fillers.

I've always been a fan of cactus for some reason...

I’ve never actually planted flowers before.  I remember helping my mom pull weeds in our flower bed, but I don’t recall helping plant anything.  Crazy, right?  How did I make it to 27 without beautifying my surroundings with annuals?  I wasn’t sure if I’d even like the whole playing in the dirt thing, but I must say that I thoroughly enjoyed it.  Good thing, too, because I have a lot more planters to fill before all is said and done.  Apparently $70 worth of flowers and such doesn’t go very far (granted, I did have to buy supplies like soil, gloves and a spade).  There is still an empty planter tucked away in the corner (between two chairs) that I’m not sure we’ll keep in that spot.  But at least it is cleaned out of whatever it was that was growing in there!

The day isn’t quite over, and I still have big plans that include taking a nap, trying a new recipe for dinner, and topping the day off with giving myself a mani/pedi.  A nice little Sunday, indeed.  What did you do this weekend?

About atlantanative

I live and play in Atlanta. Sometimes I like to write about my experiences and things that inspire me.

One response to “A Nice Little Sunday…

  1. plants never cease to brighten up a space and make it feel a bit more cozy and homey! i especially love vibrant colors of exotic plants and flowers! i wish i had the green thumb for it and the time to take care of them i sure think they would do wonders in my place 😉

    ♥♥

    http://intoxicatedchameleon.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

