Happy July!

Today is July 1st, which means half of 2011 is behind us, a long holiday weekend is ahead of us, and my first 30 for 30 remix challenge starts now!  Let’s jump right into outfit numero uno, shall we?

The whole shebang: earrings from Heliotrope, necklace from Ann Taylor outlet, top from Fab'rik (Tulle), belt from Spain, skirt from Madewell, shoes from Kohls (Aerosoles 2)

I bought this belt at a train station in Seville, Spain almost 2 years ago… and if memory serves me right, this is the first time I’ve actually worn it.

Both the top and the skirt were slated to be donated soon.  The top shrunk after wearing it once (plus it had an awkward tie-back originally), and the skirt hung out in my closet for a long time, hardly ever worn.  A couple of weeks ago, I went rummaging through my donation bag and had the bright idea to try the top with a pair of pants or skirt with a relatively high waist so that I could tuck it in.  A few snips with the scissors to get rid of the tie-backs and – voila! – a new outfit was born.  Good thing it takes me a while to get my donation pile to Goodwill!  I’m pretty pleased with it; it’s super comfortable (way better than wearing pants on a hot summer day in Atlanta), the skirt is just long enough to get away with wearing to my casual office, and it’s got pockets!  I love me some skirts (and dresses) with pockets… what do you think?

I hope you all have a super fun and safe holiday weekend!  Be careful with those fireworks – I don’t want to see your bottle rocket prank gone wrong show up on truTV.  I’m heading out of town tonight and I plan to completely unplug, meaning no blogging over the weekend.  But I will be snapping outfit photos to post on Monday or Tuesday, so check back next week!

About atlantanative

I live and play in Atlanta. Sometimes I like to write about my experiences and things that inspire me.

Leave a Reply

