A Closet Full of Clothes…

…and nothing to wear. Well, that’s actually not true, but I find those words coming out of my mouth too often. While I would love to indulge myself with a shopping spree at Target or TJMaxx (that’s how I roll), I’ve been focusing a lot on getting my financial priorities straight lately. Truth be told, I don’t have a ton of disposable income at the moment. It might have something to do with that Cancun vacation I blogged about earlier, followed immediately by (I’m talking the day after I returned home) an $800 emergency car repair. Oh, and tack on another $200 to replace a busted in car window that same week. Sheesh…

Thankfully, I had the funds to cover the costs, but it hurt a little bit to fork over the dough.  It hurt just enough to nudge me in the direction of frugality for the time being. It hasn’t been so bad thus far because I’ve made it into a super fun game that I like to call “how little can I spend this week?”  Seriously though, I’m challenging myself to master a budget, use what I already have (i.e. gym memberships, food in my cabinets, and items in my closet), take advantage of cheap entertainment and grow my savings, all while still enjoying life.  Financial matters, frugality in particular, will undoubtedly become a regular theme in future posts, but hopefully not in a “woe is me” sort of way.  I do rather enjoy a bargain and healthy financial habits are great to exercise, after all.

This is only the tip of the iceberge. The closet extends to the left a good bit, and it's packed to the gills.

All of the money talk is leading somewhere, I promise.  See, I’ve discovered several fantastic fashion centric blogs recently that have inspired me to take my frugality even further. I am currently in the process of selecting the 30 most versatile items from my closet, and starting on July 1st, I will “remix” those items to create 30 different outfits over the course of 30 days. I’m totally stealing this concept, aptly named “The 30 for 30 Remix,” from Kendi Everyday.  Another blog I’m in love with, A Pretty Penny, is currently in the middle of a 30 for 30 remix and I’m super pumped to give it a go myself!  While giving up shopping during the 30 days of remixing isn’t a requirement, I am vowing here and now to not shop during the month of July.  Have you ever gone a whole month without snapping up a cute top on clearance, or avoiding the shoe department?  I’m fairly confident that I will make it, as I’ve already gone an entire month without purchasing anything pretty for myself, and it hasn’t been so bad.  You know why?  Because I have a closet full of clothes already!  I suspect that by the end of the month I’ll want to burn the items I’ve been re-wearing, so maybe I’ll budget in a little trip to the North Georgia Premium Outlets for August.  A little incentive never hurts, right?

I’ll be using this small space I’ve carved out for myself on the internet to keep myself accountable, so expect some awkward photos of me “modeling” the outfits.  I don’t fancy myself a fashion blogger, but who knows?  It should be interesting to say the least.  Wish me luck!  And check out the blogs I’ve mentioned above – they’re great!

About atlantanative

I live and play in Atlanta. Sometimes I like to write about my experiences and things that inspire me.

Leave a Reply

