Atlanta Native in Cancun!

I’ve been a neglectful blogger lately.  I left off waaaay back in May gloating about all of the fun things I had to look forward to: a vacation to Cancun, the East Atlanta Beer Fest, and a trip to Tybee Island over Memorial Day weekend.  All of those events have come to pass, and May flew by (I hear time tends to do that when you’re busy having fun).  June has been a very mellow month by comparison, but I’m not complaining; I needed the recovery time!

Now that summer is officially here, I am finding renewed energy for my blogging hobby, so expect more frequent updates.  But first, allow me to tell you about my first all-inclusive vacation in Cancun!

Once the BF and I decided to vacation at an all-inclusive resort, we did extensive research on resorts in our price range in search of the best value; we were willing to part with $600 – 800 per person for 4 nights (including non-stop airfare).  We eventually decided on Riu Palace Las Amercias, which topped our price range at $850ish per person, but figured the extra bones would be worth it in terms of quality.  The hotel was indeed beautiful (just as advertised in the pictures) and we enjoyed plenty of drinks and a few great meals during our stay.

As this was my first all-inclusive experience, I didn’t have anything to compare it to.  I was most apprehensive about the whole tipping thing, unsure of how much to tip, when to tip, etc… it didn’t help that most travelers we encountered hailed from across the pond, where tipping etiquette is very different.  I’d read reviews on tripadvisor.com that claimed a small cash tip at the beginning of their stay secured royal treatment for the duration of the trip.  I personally did not find that tipping resulted in a significant increase of service, but we were fine with walking (or swimming) to the bar ourselves instead of snapping our fingers at a server.

We did not venture far from our resort, which was surrounded by places like Jimmy Buffet’s Margarittaville and Hooters.  Our one excursion to the market for souvenirs was unfortunately a waste of time.  Apparently we went to Cancun during the low season, because there were not many other tourist around.  The vendors were focused solely on us, beckoning us every 10 seconds to buy the identical cheap trinkets that they all carried.  It made for a less than enjoyable shopping experience, especially since they were not willing to haggle very much.  We were ready to head back to the pool after about half an hour of shopping.

So, for the most part, we spent our time soaking up the sun, swimming in the crystal clear water, and lounging by the infinity pool with mango margaritas and mojitos in hand for 3 sun-filled days.  It was rather dreamy.  Nothing extraordinarily exciting happened, unless you count a mild case of food poisoning on the last night.  Word to the wise, don’t eat sushi in Mexico.  Should have been a no brainer, right?  We thought we could trust the fancy Japanese themed restaurant on the resort, but that proved to be a mistake.  Oops!

Have you ever vacationed at an all-inclusive resort?  What has your experience been with them?

Well, that’s all for now.  More to come soon, I promise!

About atlantanative

I live and play in Atlanta. Sometimes I like to write about my experiences and things that inspire me.

Leave a Reply

