May = Fun!

The next three weekends are going to rock!  I’m so freakin’ excited that the Cancun trip the BF and I booked way back in March is finally here – we’re leaving in T -24 hours and staying at the Riu Palace las Americas through Tuesday!  I’m so looking forward to my first all-inclusive resort experience.  I can’t wait to sit on the beach with a mojito and my Kindle…

Any time I start to feel a little Debbie Downer about the fact that I’ll be back at work this time next week, a quick glance at my calendar reminds me that there are a ton of fun activities to look forward to all month long!  Next Saturday, May 21st, is the East Atlanta Beer Festival, the Southern Swapmeet (a food truck festival at the Goat Farm), and Tunes from the Tombs at the historic Oakland cemetery.

I’ve already bought my tickets for the East Atlanta Beer Festival!  This will be my first time attending, and I hope it’s as great a time as everyone says it is.  After drinking delicious beer all day, my plan is to head over to the Goat Farm in west midtown for the Southern Swapmeet, a food truck festival to benefit the Atlanta Street Food Coalition’s efforts towards making street food a larger part of Atlanta’s culture.  The entry fee is only $5 and many food and drink vendors will be selling their goodies with the back drop of live music.

If there is any time to spare, I’ll check out Tunes from the Tombs in Oakland cemetery.  I’m curious to see how this new event, which advertises multiple music stages on the cemetery grounds, will play out.  It doesn’t seem to me like the space is large enough to accommodate that many people without trampling hundreds of souls’ final resting places, but we shall see.  The biggest draw for me?  Palookaville, one of my favorite food trucks, is finally making an appearance; oh how I have missed you at all the Spring festivals!  Hooray for jalapeno corndogs!

After sufficiently recovering from all of the above (hopefully), I’ll be heading down to Tybee island for Memorial Day weekend!  My BF and a ton of our friends are renting a huge house and playing in an Ultimate Frisbee tournament, and I get to tag along and soak in more beach time!  Lucky me; 2 beach trips in 1 month!!  My fingers are crossed for nice weather all around!

By May 31st, I’ll be ready to welcome a relatively uneventful June.  I’m pretty sure I’ll need to detox!  What’s on your calendar for the coming weeks/summer?  Whatever it is, I hope it’s super fun!  I’m off to finish packing!  🙂

About atlantanative

I live and play in Atlanta. Sometimes I like to write about my experiences and things that inspire me.

Leave a Reply

