Scoutmobbing Across the Street

I realized on my way home tonight that I have absolutely nothing edible in my apartment.  I could have (and probably should have) stopped at Publix to restock the ol’ pantry, but I decided to “scoutmob it” instead.  You know about Scoutmob, right?  I sure hope so, because you’re totally missing out, and I’ll think significantly less of you as a person, if you don’t.  Okay, that last part isn’t true.  In fact, I’m happy to fill you in:

Scoutmob is a daily coupon service that provides Atlantans (and currently New Yorkers and San Franciscans) with the incentive to try local restaurants, salons, boutiques, and services with a 50% off discount.  There are apps for the iPhone and Android phones that allow users to simply flash their screen at a merchant, press a few buttons, and then — voila! — the discount is yours!  If you have a Blackberry or dumb phone (as I like to call non-smart phones), then all you have to do is join their email list and send deal codes to your phone via text message.

Now that we’re all up to speed about what Scoutmob is, lets get back to my experience this evening.  Wandering the aisles of a grocery store, deciding what to buy in my hungry state, and then waiting in an inevitably long check out line seemed daunting, so I decided to take refuge at the bar at Across the Street, a cute little Mexican inspired restaurant in Old Fourth Ward.  I’d been meaning to try Across the Street for quite some time, and luckily remembered that their Scoutmob deal is set to expire within the next month.

Approaching the entrance, I was greeted by a chalk clad sandwich board advertising Mardi Gras inspired specials every Tuesday between now until Fat Tuesday, which falls on March 8th this year.  Sign me up!  I saddled up to the colorful and inviting bar for my solo dining experience, and was informed by the friendly ‘tender that today’s specials were red beans and rice, seafood gumbo, and soft shell crab tacos, which he insisted were “to die for.”  Since I’d never been there before, I was sort of intent on trying something off of the regular menu, but he persuaded me into trying the crab tacos.  I was not disappointed!  Fried soft shell crab meat topped with spinach, goat cheese and a creole sauce – yum!  I wouldn’t exactly dub them “to die for,” but they certainly satisfied and encourage me to return in order to try the menu regulars.  See how that works?  I tried the restaurant primarily because of the 50% discount, was impressed, and will likely return to the restaurant despite a full price-tag.  It’s a win-win for me and the restaurant!

I encourage y’all to try Across the Street sometime, and definitely look into Scoutmob if you haven’t already.  Have you discovered a new favorite restaurant (or salon or boutique) due to a Scoutmob deal?  If so, please share in a comment!

About atlantanative

I live and play in Atlanta. Sometimes I like to write about my experiences and things that inspire me.

2 responses to “Scoutmobbing Across the Street

  1. shellcomstock

    Sounds fun. Do they have beignets?

Leave a Reply

